

Proceedings of the Annual Meeting of the Leeds City Council held at the Civic Hall, Leeds on Monday, 22nd May, 2006

PRESENT: The Lord Mayor Councillor William Schofield Hyde in the Chair

WARD WARD

ADEL & WHARFEDALE CALVERLEY & FARSLEY

Clive Fox

Barry John Anderson Andrew Carter

John Leslie Carter Amanda Lesley Carter

ALWOODLEY CHAPEL ALLERTON

Petery Mervyn Harrand Jane Dowson

Sharon Hamilton Mohammed Rafique

ARDSLEY & ROBIN HOOD CITY & HUNSLET

Lisa Mulherin Mohammed Iqbal Karen Renshaw Elizabeth Nash Jack Dunn Patrick Davey

ARMLEY CROSSGATES & WHINMOOR

Janet Harper Peter John Gruen
Alison Natalie Kay Lowe Suzi Armitage

Pauleen Grahame

BEESTON & HOLBECK FARNLEY & WORTLEY

David Congreve Luke Russell
Angela Gabriel David Blackburn

Adam Ogilvie

BRAMLEY & STANNINGLEY GARFORTH & SWILLINGTON

Neil Taggart Thomas Murray
Angela Denise Atkinson Andrea Harrison
Ted Hanley Mark Russell Phillips

BURMANTOFTS & RICHMOND HILL GIPTON & HAREHILLS

David Hollingsworth Roger Harington
Ralph Pryke Alan Leonard Taylor
Richard Brett Javaid Akhtar

GUISELEY & RAWSON

John Bale Graham Latty Stuart Andrew

HAREWOOD

Alec Shelbrooke Anne Castle Rachael Procter

HEADINGLEY

Martin Hamilton James John Monaghan

HORSFORTH

Brian Cleasby

Andrew Barker

HYDE PARK & WOODHOUSE

Linda Valerie Rhodes-Clayton Penny Ewens Kabeer Hussain

KILLINGBECK & SEACROFT

Brian Michael Selby

Veronica Morgan

KIPPAX & METHLEY

Keith Ivor Wakefield John Keith Parker James Lewis

KIRKSTALL

Bernard Peter Atha Elizabeth Minkin John Anthony Illingworth

MIDDLETON PARK

Debra Ann Coupar Geoffrey Driver Judith Blake

MOORTOWN

Mark Daniel Harris Brenda Lancaster

MORLEY NORTH

Thomas Leadley Robert Finnigan Stewart McArdle

MORLEY SOUTH

Christopher James Beverley

Terrence Grayshon

OTLEY & YEADON

Ryk Downes Graham Peter Kirkland Colin Campbell

PUDSEY

Mick Coulson Josephine Patricia Jarosz Richard Alwyn Lewis

ROTHWELL

Barry Stewart Golton Donald Michael Wilson Steve Smith

ROUNDHAY

Paul Wadsworth Matthew Lobley Valerie Kendall

TEMPLE NEWSAM

Michael Lyons William Schofield Hyde David Schofield

WEEWOOD

Judith Mara Chapman

Susan Bentley

WETHERBY

John Michael Procter Gerald Wilkinson Andrew Millard

1 Election of Lord Mayor

It was moved by Councillor Harington, seconded by Councillor Lancaster, supported by Councillors J L Carter, Finnigan and D Blackburn and

RESOLVED – That Councillor Mohammed Iqbal be elected Lord Mayor of the City of Leeds to hold office until the date of the Annual meeting of the Council in 2007.

(Under the provisions of Council Procedure Rule 16.5 Councillor Beverley required it to be recorded that he abstained from voting on this motion)

Councillor Iqbal made the declaration of acceptance of office and took the Chair

2 Deputy Lord Mayor

It was moved by the Lord Mayor seconded by Councillor M Hamilton and

RESOLVED – That Councillor Jack Dunn be appointed Deputy Lord Mayor of the City of Leeds to hold office until the date of the Annual meeting of the Council in 2007.

(Under the provisions of Council Procedure Rule 16.5 Councillor Beverley required it to be recorded that he abstained from voting on this motion)

3 Minutes

It was moved by Councillor M Hamilton seconded by Councillor Hanley and

RESOLVED – That the minutes of the Council meeting held on 5th April 2006 be approved as a correct record.

4 Election of Leader

It was moved by Councillor M Hamilton seconded by Councillor J Procter and

RESOLVED – That Councillor M Harris be elected as Leader for the period 23rd May 2006 to 30th November 2006 and Councillor A Carter for the period 1st December 2006 to 21st May 2007.

(Under the provisions of Council Procedure Rule 16.5 Councillor Beverley required it to be recorded that he abstained from voting on this motion)

5 Constitutional Arrangements

It was moved by Councillor M Hamilton seconded by Councillor Hanley and

RESOLVED – That amendments to the Constitution as detailed in the report of the Chief Democratic Services Officer be approved

6 Establishment of Committees and Terms of Reference

It was moved by Councillor M Hamilton seconded by Councillor Hanley and

RESOLVED – That Committees be established having Terms of Reference as detailed in Schedule 8(a) to the agenda

7 Appointments to Committees and Outside Bodies

It was moved by Councillor M Hamilton seconded by Councillor Hanley and

RESOLVED – That appointments to seats on committees and outside bodies as detailed in schedules 8(b)(i), (ii) and (iii) and 8(c) to the agenda be approved, alternative arrangements in accordance with Section 17 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 being applicable to schedule 8(b)(ii).

8 Executive Arrangements

It was moved by Councillor M Hamilton seconded by Councillor Hanley and

RESOLVED – That the list presented by the Leader setting out the arrangements for the discharge of executive functions detailed in Schedule 9(a) to the agenda be noted.

9 Lead Members

It was moved by Councillor M Hamilton seconded by Councillor Hanley and

RESOLVED – That the assignment of Lead Members to support members of the Executive Board in the discharge of their responsibilities as detailed in Schedule 9(b) to the agenda be noted.

10 Calendar of Meetings

It was moved by Councillor M Hamilton seconded by Councillor Hanley and

RESOLVED – That the Calendar of Meetings as contained in Schedule 10 to the agenda be approved.

11 Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Lord Mayor

Councillor A Carter moved a vote of thanks to the retiring Lord Mayor, Councillor W Hyde. This was seconded by Councillor Driver, supported by Councillors Cleasby, Finnigan and D Blackburn and carried unanimously.

Council rose at 7.30 pm